Vegan Ice Cream (Double Chocolate!!)

I am so excited about this recipe.. I currently have half a tub of this ice cream in my freezer and I can’t stop thinking about it.. I doubt it will survive the night. I love ice cream (and I mean LOVE!), especially chocolate ice cream with extra crunchy bits. Well, let me tell you, this recipe REALLY hit the spot, especially today on such a hot summers day. You will need an ice cream maker for this one, we just bought ours on the weekend for about $40. I’m pretty sure you can get them cheaper than that if you are a bargain shopper.. anyway, without further ado..

Dairy-Free Double Chocolate Ice Cream
(Vegan Planet)

Ingredients:
4 cups cold soy milk or other dairy free milk
2 tablespoons arrowroot
1/4 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 cup sugar or natural sweetener
1/2 cup semisweet vegan chocolate chips (we used our usual whittakers dark chocolate cut into chunks)
1 tablespoon pure vanilla extract

Method:
In a small bowl, combine 1/4 cup of the soy milk and the arrowroot. Blend well and set aside. Place the remaining 3 3/4 cups of soy milk in a medium saucepan over medium heat. Add the cocoa powder and sugar and bring to a simmer, stirring to dissolve the sugar. Stir in the arrowroot mixture, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens and starts to bubble, about 5 minutes. Do not let boil. Remove from the heat and add the vegan chocolate. Let the chocolate sit in the hot liquid for a few minutes before whisking to combine thoroughly. Stir in the vanilla and let cool to room temperature. Refrigerate until chilled, then freeze in an ice cream maker according to the manufacturer’s directions.

(about halfway through the freezing process we added some crushed up Oreo cookies for some extra crunch, next time I might also add some vegan choc chips and some crushed nuts.. yummo!)

And now the photo montage (although, silly me, was so excited to EAT the ice cream, that I forgot to get a photo of it being served up and looking all pretty, so instead, the end of the series is just a boring old shot of inside the tub after we had eaten some):

pc010022

pc010066

pc010041

pc010039

pc010047

pc010059

pc010068

pc010106

pc020097

pc020116

Leave a comment