Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies

This blog is now hosted at http://veganchickie.com

This was my first attempt at vegan cookies and I’m so thrilled with the results. These cookies are the perfect amount of crunchy and chocolate-y, I think next time I’ll add some chopped walnuts to the mix as well, although I don’t think I’ll need to make any more cookies for a VERY long time, I doubled the normal amounts thinking the original yield would only be a dozen or so and I wanted to take some to my Bowen lady, five dozen cookies later I was still baking and that’s not even taking into account the cookie dough I ate straight from the bowl! My goodness, I’ll be eating choc chip cookies for the rest of the year!!


Ingredients:
4 1/2 teaspoons egg replacer (We use ORGRAN)
6 tablespoons (90ml) water
1 cup (225g) non-dairy butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup brown sugar
3/4 teaspoon vanilla bean paste (or 2 tsp vanilla extract)
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 to 2 cups non dairy choc chips

Method:

1. Preheat the oven to 190 degrees. Line a cookie sheet with parchment paper or use a non stick baking tray.

2. Whip the egg replacer and water together, until it’s thick and creamy.

3. In a large bowl, cream the butter, sugars and vanilla. Add the egg replacer mixture to the bowl and thoroughly combine.

4. In a separate bowl, combine the flour, baking soda and salt. Gradually beat the flour mixture into the wet mixture until it begins to form a dough. When it is almost thoroughly combined, stir in the choc chips.

5. Bake on cookie sheet for approx 10 – 15 minutes or until golden brown. Stand for 5 minutes and then put on wire racks to cool completely.

Yeild: 2 dozen

Anyone want to come round and share them with me? I have soooo many:

2 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    nathan said,

    I tried these, my first attempt didn’t go too well, they tasted delicious though. First time I’ve used a real vanilla pod, yummo. Will try again 🙂


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

