Welcome to the VBlog..

hugavegshirt-11

I have only been a vegetarian for a year, although for years before the change, I struggled with idea of eating flesh. My sense of courtesy stopped me from being true to my feelings, I felt guilty at the prospect of putting people out, for making things difficult. It was at a family Christmas dinner where I sat queasy, watching everyone pulling the heads of prawns in delight that I finally decided to leave courtesy at the door and follow what I believed in. The next day I ordered a veggie burger at the local restaurant when we met for Boxing day lunch and I haven’t looked back.

It is such a relief to be able to eat meals without pushing images to the back of my head for fear of thinking about what I was *actually* eating. It is like a weight has been lifted off my shoulders. I have never felt happier about my food choices and I love everything about being a vegetarian (well, everything except restaurants who only offer one token veggie dish and do it poorly!). The thing is, that while I love being vegetarian, I also love food. My favourite thing to do is sit down to a meal with my friends or my family or my partner, I love to share food, I love to talk about food and I (really!) love to eat food. It is only a coincidence that I am lucky enough to be engaged to a chef, truth be known – believe it or not – he is the love of my life, regardless of the fact that my every food wish is his command. I am very spoilt, and very grateful!

This blog is going to be a bit of a mishmash of things, here, I will show off my cooking skills and those of my chef extraordinaire, I will share my favourite recipes, I will review restaurants, I will detail the frustrations of finding good vegetarian food in a meat-centric society and – when I remember – I might even grace your screen with a photo or two.

I hope we enjoy the ride.

3 Responses so far »

  1. 1

    Pagan Rach said,

    Good for you!
    I’ve been vegetarian for almost 12 years now and you totally get used to there only being one or two things you can choose from when you go out to eat! Makes choosing easier… LOL.
    I’ll be stalking your blog I think, always looking for new recipes!
    Rach (Raiwyn on JB)

  2. 2

    womandom said,

    Rach! My first stalker! Welcome.
    12 years! How wonderful.. You’re right about limited choices making it easier to decide on a meal when we are out and about 😀
    Thanks for commenting, I hope you get some good recipe ideas.

  3. 3

    wolfmama said,

    I felt the same, it didn’t sit right to be eating meat when I adored animals so much. I actually loved meat too though! So it took me until I was 24… I’ve been a vego now for 6 years (almost 7) and I’ve never looked back. I’m not vegan, have no real desire to be but I do like vegan food that isn’t too unnatural so am looking forward to your recipes!


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

